flood

Your kiss felt like a tidal wave over and against me,
your arms clinging
around my waist and I remember thinking of drowning,
Sinking beneath you
Giving up the fight
It goes beyond losing speech and sight
I thought,
“This must be what drowning feels like.”

You kissed me until I grew dizzy
Until I was boneless
Until I was shaking
Then I felt cold air between us for a split second
And panicked
I had no second of thinking
And I pulled your mouth back to mine
I did not mourn the loss of this fight
I had your hands in my hair
And your lips warm against mine
The bottom of a river never looked so fine.

Leave a Reply

